There are four types of risk assessments, are you sure you’re doing the right one?

Ashley Churchyard, Fsp Business, 02 Jun. 2014

Tags: risk assessment, baseline assessment, continuous assessment, workplace hazards, ohs policy, safety officer, generic assessment, specialised assessment

A risk assessment is a vital part of your OHS Plan. It’s the first step to identify and prevent workplace hazards before they turn into serious accidents.

What you may not know is there’s more than one type of risk assessment. And if you do the wrong one, your findings could be utterly useless.

Check out the four different types of risk assessments below to make sure you’re doing the right one.

Here’s how you can be 100% sure your risk assessments are legally compliant...
Everything you need to effectively manage risk in your business, avoid accidents in the workplace and be 100% compliant with the DoL is now available to you in this one resource.
Can you afford to not have it?
Find out more here.

The four different types of risk assessments

According to the Health and Safety Advisor, there are four types of risk assessments and choosing the wrong one could be a costly mistake.
These are the four types of risk assessments:
1. Baseline assessment
This is a very broad assessment of the risks in your workplace. It’ll cover all the work activities your employees do on site.
2. Generic assessment
This kind of risk assessment compares the same task done in different workplaces. For example, if you run three different construction sites, you’ll get the workers on all three sites to do the same task. Then you’ll compare the outcomes and the risks on each site.
These two are the more common types of risk assessments, the last two are slightly different...
Three Tips to get your employees to comply with health and safety laws
Employees think that safety is something “management’ must do. They’re wrong. Employees also have duties to comply with the OHS Act.
It’s your responsibility to make sure your employees comply. Don’t know how to do it? 
Here’s how…

Here are the last two types of risk assessments

3. Continuous assessment
As the name suggests this kind of risk assessment happens on a daily or ongoing basis. It’s very informal and it’s your safety officer’s duty to observe workers doing their work.
4. Specialised assessment
A specialised assessment will use one of the nine risk assessment models. These models are:
1. Hazardous components;
2. Safety-related interfaces;
3. Environmental constraints;
4. Operating;
5. Activities;
6. Changes
7. Safety devises;
8. Warnings; and
9. Hazardous materials; and training.
The kind of risk assessment you’ll use depends entirely on the kind of work you do. So ensure you choose the right one to get the most out of your assessment. 

Related articles:



Thanduxolo 2014-10-05 15:29:19



RSS Facebook Share the experience
Health and Safety Club
  • COID
  • Contractors
  • Emergencies
  • Fire Safety
  • First Aid
  • Health and Safety Audit
  • Health and Safety Inspection
  • Health and Safety Representatives
  • Health and Safety Training
  • Induction
  • OHSA
  • PPE
  • Risk Assessment
Video Archive Video club
Your library of Free eReports
View full library
FREE Download: 10 Health & Safety appointment letters!

Download 10 Health & Safety appointment letters you legally need in your safety file!